Summary: We're changing how names are displayed on the site. Please take the opportunity to review use of your display name in your settings.
We're rolling out some privacy improvements, taking effect 20th June 2015.
Some groups have told us that it is important to them that they are able to operate on the basis of member discussions using real names, so that members know who they are talking to. However, we recognise that this could be in conflict with the entirely reasonable desire not to have one's name on the public internet if wished.
Accordingly, we have worked to implement a solution to this, whereby you can set your real name which people in your groups will see, but set a display name for everyone else. Previously the display name was always used.
Improved controls over how your name is displayed to others
We provide privacy controls that enable you to avoid your name being shown publicly on the internet while still visible to fellow members in a discussion. These are available on the account details page, and the two fields for your name will work as follows from 20th June:
- your real name (visible to members of groups you are in); and
- an optional display name (for all other situations); if you don't set one, you'll be shown as anonymous.
The visibility rule described above is used whenever your name is shown to others, e.g.:
- next to each posting you make;
- in the list of people subscribed to a discussion thread; and
- on your user profile.
As the site is intended for collaborative discussion and working, we think it is helpful to your colleagues to use your real name when identifying yourself. Some groups using the site operate discussions on a real-names basis, so they may require that you identify yourself by your real name.
Once this change has been made, we'll be removing the temporary block from search engines indexing thread content that is set to be public.
This requirement to private groups with the ability to operate on a real-names basis was one of the drivers for this improvement.
Better control of your profile page
In order to foster a sense of community, we provide each member of the site with a user profile. This shows only the details you have chosen to enter on the Edit my profile page.
As of 20th June, you'll be able disable your user profile at any time (again via the Edit my profile page), so that it is not visible to others.
This includes the points above, as well as others, such as that we don't share your information with others e.g. for commercial purposes, and has the usual information on cookies.
We also clarify that we only use EU-based server hosting (in fact, currently UK only).